About Us

The Transylvanian Museum is a member of the Transylvanian-Saxon cultural council (Siebenbürgisch-Sächsischer Kulturrat e.V.), the Baden-Württemberg Museums Association and the German Museums Association.

Since 1973, the museum has been operated by the Board of Trustees of the Transylvanian Museum Gundelsheim Association (Siebenbürgisches Museum Gundelsheim e.V.).

The objectives of the association are the preservation and promotion of the heritage in the form of the art and cultural heritage of the Transylvanian Saxons. The association’s regulations aim to assist and support the Transylvanian Museum as an institution that is open to the public. This relates to the collection of objects of Transylvanian cultural heritage, the preservation of these historical objects for subsequent generations, and assistance in the research, documentation and presentation of these collectibles.

As a state museum, the Transylvanian museum sees its responsibilities in the extended context of collecting items of cultural heritage. This means that it does not only collect and research Transylvanian-Saxon cultural assets but also objects from other ethnic groups in Transylvania, in order to help understand and to acknowledge the context in which the Transylvanian Saxon culture developed.

The Board of Trustees

Dr. Irmgard Sedler, Chairwoman
Dr. Ruth Fabritius, Deputy Chairwoman
Margrit Csiky M.A., Treasurer
Dagmar Seck, Secretary
Dr. Timo Hagen

advisory members
Heike Schokatz, Mayoress
Dr. Markus Lörz

Institutional members of the Board of Trustees are (in alphabetical order):

  • Arbeitskreis für Siebenbürgische Landeskunde e. V. Heidelberg website*
  • Gemeinschaft der Evangelischen Siebenbürger Sachsen und Banater Schwaben im Diakonischen Werk der EKD e.V. (Hilfskomitee)
  • Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media website*
  • Siebenbürgisches Kulturzentrum Schloss Horneck e. V.
  • Siebenbürgisch-Sächsischer Kulturrat e. V.
  • Siebenbürgisch-Sächsische Stiftung, München website*
  • Verband der Siebenbürger Sachsen in Deutschland e.V. website*
  • Verband der Siebenbürgisch-Sächsischen Heimatortsgemeinschaften e.V. website*

The Transylvanian Museum is managed by:

Dr. Markus Lörz
Chief Curator

Elisabeth Hietschold
Head of Administration

The Transylvanian Museum is sponsored by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media following a resolution of the German Federal Parliament. website*